THE CARRIE M. MCLAIN MEMORIAL MUSEUM WILL BE CLOSED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE AS WE BEGIN THE PLANNING AND CONSTRUCTION OF OUR NEW SPACE IN THE RICHARD FOSTER BUILDING
"Discover Nome's Unique History"
The Carrie M. McLain Memorial Museum is located at 223 Front Street. Nome's history is truly unique. The City owned museum is filled with exciting and educational displays and exhibits on various events & people that will convince you why there is "No Place Like Nome."
The City of Nome celebrated its Centennial from 1998-2001. Nome's only museum showcases the fascinating history of the Nome Gold Rush from the discovery of gold by the Three Lucky Swedes in 1898, to the arrival of Wyatt Earp in 1899 to the gold rush of 40,000 People to Nome in 1900. Learn about the formation of the Nome Kennel Club as well as the first long distance sled dog race, the All Alaska Sweepstakes. Discover the lifestyles and art of the Bering Strait Eskimo.
The Carrie M. McLain Memorial Museum is dedicated to collecting, preserving & showcasing the Nome Gold Rush, Bering Strait Eskimo, aviation as well as contemporary history & culture associated with Nome, Alaska & the Bering Strait region of Western Alaska. The Museum exists to promote & provide education & research to everyone from elementary school children to international visitors & researchers. The Museum owns an extensive historical photograph collection with over 18,000 images that are available to purchase for publication or personal use.